The key stage 2 national curriculum tests are designed to test children's knowledge and understanding of specific elements of the key stage 2 programmes of study. They provide a snapshot of a child’s attainment at the end of the key stage.

English and mathematics tests are taken at the end of year 6, usually when children are 11-years-old. Level 6 tests form part of the suite of key stage 2 national curriculum tests. These are are optional and are aimed at high attaining children.

An overview of the 2014 tests is available from 2014 key stage 2 tests page.

At the end of key stage 2, teachers assess children's attainment in English, mathematics and science. These teacher assessment judgements are reported to the Standards and Testing Agency (STA) as well as to parents.

Further information about teacher assessment is published in the Teacher assessment section of this website. 

Tests in 2015

The dates for the 2015 test cycle have been confirmed as follows. These dates will be communicated to schools and local authorities. Schools must keep these periods free for administering the tests.

  Test week Return of results
2015 week commencing 11 May Tuesday 7 July


Contact details

National curriculum assessments helpline
Telephone: 0300 303 3013